Interview with Adrian Vidal

Today we interviewed Adrian Vidal, the main part of our staff, one of the most outstanding fishermen in Valencia in recent years.

  • ¿How did you learn about lure fishing? At what age did you start fishing?

I got to know lure fishing when I was about 6 or 7 years old, but I was much more attracted to fishing with bait, such as surf-casting, rock-fishing or corcheo, whose results were better for me at that time. Fishing with lures was very difficult and that made that, in spite of how enormously attractive the samples seemed to me, I did not dedicate many hours to the artificial bait. Every time I watched a Rapala documentary, Jara y Sedal or other brands/publishers made me wake up the lure vein but I always went to bait. From the time I was 18-19 years old, that changed…

I started fishing as small as I could, rock-fishing/bait fishing with my father with whom I practiced this wonderful activity.

  • Salt water or inland water?

I always fished in salt water because of my proximity to the sea. I lived 50 meters from the beach. I started with inland waters at the age of 23 when I moved to make another life in the Peninsula.

  • ¿Popping o Jigging?

This is like asking: What do you love your mother or father more?

  • ¿Size or quantity? Do you prefer a giant fish or many mediums?

It depends on the trip, destination and/or mode. In general I always go for 1 and big. But while I try to find it, there is a great variety in different sizes and without a doubt, it is the fun of the quantity-variety that makes me endure until I find the XXL.

  • ¿What is your favourite HÖWK rod?

It depends on the mode, I can not choose one. I have 3 which are the best rods I’ve ever had in my life:
Bullfighter 170
Hotspot 250
Thespecial ONE X

  • ¿Alone or accompanied?

Depends on the time and my fishing intentions. Usually, as more adults get lonelier. Well, as more adults, more accompanied, I care more and more about the company, the tapas, the jokes and the spending of gasoline… much more than the fish we are going to catch. If we catch it!

  • ¿Atlantic or Mediterranean?

Although my land, my house and what I’ve lived through most has been in the Mediterranean… I say ATLANTIC 100%.

  • ¿Your best fish?

Hard to say. I guess because of the species-size relationship, difficulty, and having achieved it at home, in my own field: leerfish estimated at 35kgs +/-.

  • From the coast or by boat?

And if the fish are very big (from 30-40kgs) I like more to be the captain and maneuver the end of the fight than to be the fighting fisherman.

  • ¿Challenge for this year?

Tuna from +300kgs from Stand-up in Valencia.

  • ¿What do you think about the HOWK project?

I could see it born/grow up 1 year before absolutely nothing was on the market or public image and I can only say that it has been a total success. I had the opportunity to test prototypes in the Mediterranean, Atlantic, Indian, local fishing, tropical, everything. I fell in love with the brand and that’s why, after years, I still proudly belong to the team.

2020-04-03T10:04:09+00:00
Message Us on WhatsApp